A11 throws a forward pass toward A44. When he touches the pass A44 is (a) touching the sideline, or (b) airborne after leaping from out of bounds.
RULING: Incomplete pass. In both (a) and (b) A44 is by definition an out-of-bounds player (AR 7-3-4 IV).
At the snap, A45 is illegally in motion and B79 is in the neutral zone. Quarterback A15 throws an interception to B38 who returns the ball to the B-45. During B38's return, B79 clips.
RULING: Offsetting fouls, replay the down. Team B fouled before gaining possession, so it does not have the option of declining offsetting fouls.
How many OH fouls do you see on this play?
We miss the two biggest holds in the game so far on the same play. C - LT #50 gets beat to the outside and just takes his defender to the ground right in front of you. I know the QB is almost being threatened here but you must already be recognizing this and know when they go to the ground that it is a foul. U - #53 just snatches the defender down to the ground with a handful of jersey from behind, this is not an overpower, its a jerk down. Stay focused every play, we can't miss these. PGM feed and CAM1, CAM3
Should this be a correct call for PF late hit OB on the QB?
Absolutely NO! We need to self assess on this play. For a crew to work the way it should, we need to pick each other up! H has his hands full with potential out of bounds and he's just a couple yards from this action. S should have the best look followed by the C. Disappointing! Don't EVER let the emotions of the SL dictate what you do!
EXAMPLE 5-13: A12 is in a shotgun formation five yards behind the snapper. He (a) catches the snap and immediately spikes the ball to the ground to stop the clock, or (b) muffs the snap, then catches the muffed ball and immediately spikes it to the ground to stop the clock.
RULING: Legal play in both (a) and (b). In (b), the pass is legal because the ball did not touch the ground.
EXAMPLE 9-29: Team A's long punt is caught by B29 at the B-3. His momentum carries him into his end zone where (a) he is tackled, or (b) he fumbles the ball and it goes out of bounds over the end line.
RULING: In both cases it is Team B's ball at the B-3 where B29 caught it.
Is the contact enough to call IBB? Who should be the primary and secondary official to see this action by #21 of North Texas?
YES! FIU player is stumbling because of push... could anybody else have seen this and talked SJ into staying with it, this is why its important we open our O2O when reporting foul to R so others are aware if anyone else had seen this action its is time to step in and help crew. H, this is in the area we would expect you to be looking as well.
Is this a correct call for IDP?
This is NOT a foul for IDP.
Team A’s fourth-down punt is bounding at the B-10 and brushes against the leg of the receiver, B31. A89, racing down the field to cover the punt, is unaware that B31 has touched the ball. After the ball breaks the plane of Team B’s goal line, A89 reaches across the goal line and bats the ball backward into the field of play. The ball rolls dead at the B-1.
RULING: A89 is guilty of batting a ball in the end zone per 9-4-1c. The result of the play is that the ball belongs to Team B at the B-1 (6-3-7). If Team B opts to have the 10-yard penalty for the batting foul enforced from the previous spot, the down will be replayed; the loss-of-down portion of the penalty in 9-4-1c does not apply. Team B could also have the penalty enforced from the dead-ball spot and have a first down at the B-11. See also Example 9-53.
B34 catches a punt at the B-2. His momentum carries him into his end zone where he fumbles. The ball rolls to the B-3 and A47 bats it forward into Team B’s end zone. There B54 recovers the ball while his knee is on the ground.
RULING: Touchback, since the impetus is from the batting by A47 which is a foul. Since accepting the penalty would give Team B the ball at the B-12, Team B will decline the penalty.
Should this be a foul for OPI?
YES. It is the responsibility of the offense to avoid the opponent. Ask yourself, did he do that here? The answer is no and while this is not huge, it is a foul for OPI.
Is there a foul on defensive player #4?
Yes DH. We need to pay close attention to defenders who are close to the receiver as they are coming out of their break. they are using this technique to "slingshot" themselves back into the play. This is the term that coaches use for this technique.
A 4/10 from the 50. Scrimmage kick is made, there is an illegal touch at the B-10 by an A player,
B picks up the rolling kick at the B-5. Runs to the B-20, where B is hit, fumbles, and A recovers
and scores a TD. During B's run, B blocks below the waist at the B-10.
Result: if the foul is declined, B gets the illegal touch spot (B-10). If the foul is accepted, since it is a personal foul, it carries. A gets the score and the foul is enforced as a try-option.
A 4/10 from the 50. Scrimmage kick is made, there is an illegal touch at the B-10 by an A player, B picks up the rolling kick at the B-5. Runs to the B-20, where B is hit, fumbles, and A recovers and scores a TD. During A's run after the change of possession, B holds at the B-20.
Result: this foul is declined by rule. B gets the illegal touch spot. B 1-10 at the B-10.
True or False. This should be a foul for DPI?
True. Compare what we call earlier relative to restriction and this play. See CAM 1. He has no chance to come back to the ball. See CAM 11 and watch what this defender does to keep himself in the play. This is the slingshot technique I mentioned earlier. He grabs the hips of the receiver at the B30 to keep himself in this play. The receiver is getting ready to blow by him.
True or False. This hit on the QB should have been called TGT?
False: Could easily see a flag from the field for this hit. This is not a foul for targeting but it is a great training tape play for replay. The PGM feed shows facemask to chest. EZ view behind the QB shows the QB;s head recoiling forward first which tells you that the initial force of the blow is NOT in the head. The defenders helmet does slide up and contact the QB with force but this is incidental contact and NOT targeting.
Fourth and seven on the B-13. A1 attempts a field goal from the B-21. The kick is blocked and the ball rolls to the B-3 where the ball deflects off A8. A8 had previously stepped on the sideline at the A-9 and then reestablished back inbounds. B2 recovers the ball at the B-1 with his knee on the sideline.
RULING: The ball was untouched by Team B beyond the neutral zone because B2 was out of bounds when he touched the ball. Thus, it will be Team B's ball, first and 10 at the B-20. The penalty cannot be enforced at the subsequent dead-ball spot because it was a field goal attempt.
During the first series in an extra period, a field goal attempt by A4 from the B-20 is partially blocked. While the ball is rolling toward the end zone, B52 clips A28 at the B-1 in an effort to get the ball. Team B is in final possession.
RULING: Post-scrimmage kick enforcement does not apply in extra periods. The penalty is enforced from the previous spot, half-the-distance to the goal line, with an automatic first down for Team A.
Yes or No. This is correctly called FWD progress on the field?
YES! This is clear and obvious that this is forward progress and correctly ruled by the LJ.
True or False. This is correctly called DPI?
False. This is a tough play. I sent this to Eugene and Anthony too and they think we are better off with nothing here. In addition, we have no hat down indicating he went out of bounds. Steve Shaw called me about this play. If we deemed that he was forced out, he is still eligible but has to re-establish to first touch but has DPI protection. That's why a hat and knowing how you ruled him being out of bounds is important also!
Fourth and 10 on the A-5. B77 blocks the punt at the A-7. The ball is deflected to the A-9 and is muffed into the end zone. A21 bats the ball from the end zone into the field of play and it goes out of bounds at the A-6.
***List all enforcement options
RULING: There are three options for Team B: (1) B, 1/G, A-6: Decline the penalty and accept the result of the play; (2) Safety: either by accepting the penalty with enforcement under the 3-and 1 principle from the spot of the foul or under 6-3-13 Exc which says it’s a safety because the foul is in Team A’s end zone; or (3) B, 1/G, A-3: Accept the penalty with enforcement from where the ball belongs to Team B.