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100

Conversion Rate

Conversion rate is the percentage of customers, or potential customers, that take a specific action. The “specific action” can be anything from opening an email, to signing up for a demo, to making a purchase

100

Search engine optimization

Search engine optimization (SEO) is one of the most common marketing terms digital marketers encounter.

Simply put, SEO is the process of increasing the amount and quality of traffic to your website from unpaid web search results. The “unpaid” part is important; SEO excludes paid search.

100

Search engine marketing (SEM)

Search engine marketing (SEM) is the process of increasing the amount and quality of traffic to your website using SEO and paid advertisements. In simple terms, SEO + paid search results = SEM.

100

Search engine results page (SERP)

Search engine results page (SERP) is the page of results a user sees when they type a term into a search engine. Generally speaking, the higher your SERP rank for a given term, the more likely a user is to click on your result.

200

Clickthrough rate (CTR)

Clickthrough rate (CTR) is the percentage of clicks a campaign receives relative to the number of impressions. A higher CTR often implies that campaigns are resonating more effectively with viewers. The formula for CTR is:

(clicks on a campaign ÷ total campaign impressions) × 100 = CTR

For example, if a given ad campaign has 5 clicks and 500 impressions, the CTR is 1%: (5 ÷ 500) × 100 = 1.

200

Pull marketing

Also called inbound marketing, pull marketing refers to marketing efforts designed to “pull” or attract sales prospects to your website, brand, and products or services.

Examples of pull marketing include SEO (search engine optimization) and social media marketing.

200

Customer acquisition

Digital marketing is all about customer acquisition and retention. Customer acquisition refers to all of the sales and marketing activities involved in obtaining a customer.

200

Cost per click (CPC)

Cost per click (CPC) is the marketing jargon that refers to the cost of each click in a paid search campaign. With the CPC model, you pay based on clicks as opposed to impressions. CPC is popular on pay-per-click platforms such as Google Ads.

300

Impression

An impression is an instance of a piece of online content being shown. Often, the term is used in the world of paid online ads. For example, clickthrough rate (CTR) is calculated using clicks and impressions.

300

Push marketing

Push marketing refers to marketing efforts designed to send a targeted message to a given set of potential or existing customers.

Examples of push marketing include targeted email campaigns, television and radio ads, and line-of-sight marketing using digital signage within brick-and-mortar locations.

300

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)

tells you the average cost of acquiring a customer. You can calculate CAC using this formula:

sales and marketing expenses ÷ total number of customers = CAC

CAC is important because, coupled with CLV (customer lifetime value), it can tell you a lot about the potential profitability of your business model.

300

Customer relationship management (CRM)

Customer relationship management (CRM) is the process of building, maintaining, and enhancing an organization's relationship with its customers.

For many digital marketers, CRM software is an important aspect of effective CRM because the right software can enable scalable contact management, customer segmentation, automation of marketing efforts, and sales analytics.

400

Content management system (CMS)

A content management system (CMS) is a type of software designed to simplify the process of creating a website and publishing content. CMS software, such as the very popular WordPress platform, can help streamline everything from content management, to SEO, to user management.

400

Marketing analytics

Marketing analytics and digital marketing go hand in hand. Marketing analytics, or digital marketing analytics, is a data-driven approach to the measurement of marketing effectiveness. With the data marketers can capture from social media, web forms, and other mediums, marketing analytics can enable insights that make future campaigns more effective.

400

Customer lifetime value (CLV)

Customer lifetime value (CLV) tells you the amount of revenue a customer generates for your business. CLV is sometimes referred to as lifetime customer value (LVC). There are a number of different ways to calculate CLV, but here’s one of the simplest:

average purchase amount × frequency of purchases × customer lifespan = CLV

400

Bounce rate

Bounce rate is the ratio of how many users “bounce” after visiting your website. A “bounce” is a visit to your site that doesn’t involve the user visiting any other pages or taking any other actions. That is, they land on a single page and leave.

500

A/B Test

A/B tests, sometimes referred to as split-run tests, are tests where two different versions of the same thing are tested and measured for effectiveness. In the world of digital marketing, the “thing” being tested is often a web page, social media campaign, email campaign, digital advertisement, or sign-up form.

500

Cost per mille (CPM)

Cost per mille (CPM) is one of the few pieces of marketing lingo to use Latin. “Mille” is Latin for “thousand,” and CPM means cost per thousand impressions. CPM is often used for setting the price of a given paid ad campaign.

500

Customer segmentation

Customer segmentation, also known as market segmentation, is the process of categorizing and segmenting customers based on different criteria. The objective of customer segmentation is to enable you to group customers based upon their needs, interests, and budget as well as their potential value to your business.

500

Return on investment (ROI)

Return on investment (ROI) is the percentage of return made on a given investment. While there are plenty of marketing-specific metrics you’ll come across as you work through the marketing process, it’s important not to overlook the fundamentals, such as ROI.

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