Feats
Spellcasting
Combat Rules
Class Features
Misc Rules
100

A PC with the War Caster feat is holding a boulder with both hands, can they perform the somatic components of spells in this position?

No, War Caster lets players "perform the somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a shield in one or both hands", and a boulder is neither.

100

A PC concentrating on the 5th level spell Wall of Force readies their action to cast Magic Missile, is concentration retained?

No, to quote the combat rules "To be readied, a spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and holding onto the spell’s magic requires concentration."

100

A PC has 30ft walking speed and 60ft flying speed. They walk 30ft and use the rest of their movement to fly, how many feet do they fly?

30ft, to quote the using different speeds section of the combat rules: "Whenever you switch [movement types], subtract the distance you’ve already moved from the new speed."

100

Can a Druid wear Studded Leather Armor (complete with the metal rivets) without violating their class's cultural taboo?

Yes.

It states in the SAC that: "The idea is that druids prefer to be protected by animal skins, wood, and other natural materials that aren’t the worked metal that is associated with civilization."

Studded Leather Armor's defense comes from its leather, the metal rivets merely reinforce it. It also states separately in the SAC that Studded Leather Armor is allowed.

100

Can you use a help action on a creature to give them advantage on threading a needle?

No, the help action requires that the action be reasonably suitable for a creatures help to affect the outcome, and threading a needle is the example the game gives about an action that cannot be helped with.

200

A PC takes the Eldritch Adept feat to get the Mask of Many Faces invocation which allows them to cast the 1st level spell Disguise Self at will. If a creature wishes to use their action to examine their disguise, how is the the modifier used in the spell DC determined?

The DC uses the caster's choice of Intelligence, Wisdom or Charisma, which they choose from upon taking the feat.

200

A PC uses a bonus action to cast the cantrip Magic Stone, then uses an action to cast the 1st level spell Catapult, is this allowed?

No, in the bonus action section of the spellcasting rules it states: "You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action."

200

A prone PC is in difficult terrain, how many feet of movement must they expend to move one foot?

3ft, to quote the combat rules: "Crawling 1 foot in difficult terrain costs 3 feet of movement."

200

If a Tempest Cleric rolls for thunder damage as well as another damage type in the same attack, would their Destructive Wrath Channel Divinity maximize all damage or just the thunder?

Only the thunder would be maximized.

To quote the SAC: "Destructive Wrath is meant to maximize lightning and thunder damage only. "

200

A creature takes 1 damage from a type they resist, how much health do they lose?

0.

Resistance halves and rounds down, this is true for small numbers as well.

300

A PC with the Actor feat imitates the voice of a goblin's wife, someone whom the player had heard speak for more than one minute. The goblin and the PC make an Insight vs Deception check. Who would win if they tied?

The PC.

The Contested Ability Check rules state: "If the contest results in a tie, the situation remains the same as it was before the contest." The ability contest in the Actor feat states the contest would "allow a listener to determine that the effect is faked," implying that the default state is that they would be deceived.

300

A PC has the 1st level spell Jump affecting them, tripling their jump distance. They jump 45 feet, how many feet of movement do they expend during the jump?

45ft

Both the high jump and long jump rules state: "...each foot you clear on the jump costs a foot of movement." The Jump spell doesn't make an exception for this rule, thus meaning to Jump 45ft would cost 45ft of movement.

Direct quote from the SAC:"

Your jump is limited by how far you can move; each foot jumped uses a foot of movement. You can take the Dash action if you want to extend how far you can move on your turn.

For example, if you have a Strength score of 15, you can normally leap 15 feet when you make a long jump if you move at least 10 feet immediately beforehand. If the jump spell is cast on you, that potential jump distance is tripled. That’s a jump of 45 feet! If your speed is 30 feet, you can use only 30 feet of that jump distance on your turn, unless you take the Dash action, which allows you to leap the full 45 feet."

300

When an attacker doesn't know the location a target creature is in, how is an attempt for their attack on them supposed to be ruled?

The attacker declares a location to attack at, rolls with disadvantage, and if the location declared was not where the target was, they automatically miss, even with a critical hit.

300

A Wild Magic Sorcerer rolls a 77 on the wild magic table, which states that they "cast Polymorph on yourself. If you fail the saving throw, you turn into a sheep for the spell's duration." What happens when the Sorcerer simply attempts to end concentration on the spell?

Nothing.

Concentration "isn't required" for any casting of a Wild Magic spell over its duration.

300

A party of adventurers begin taking a long rest at 12am and finish it at 8am. At 11pm that night they begin taking a long rest, at what time do they receive the benefits from their long rest?

8am

To quote the resting rules: "A character can’t benefit from more than one long rest in a 24-hour period..."

400

A Wizard with the Magic Initiate feat with Sorcerer as the chosen class wishes to cast the level 1 spell that comes with the feat with their Wizard spell slots, are they allowed to?

No.

Multiclassing has an entirely separate ruling to this. The SAC makes this clear:

"If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?"

"Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes."

400

A creature with a 30ft walking speed is standing on a surface affected by the 3rd level spell Plant Growth (action version) and the 2nd level spell Spike Growth. How many feet of movement must the creature expend to move 5ft?

25ft

Plant Growth (action version) makes it so a player must expend 4ft of movement to move 1ft, combined with the extra 1ft of movement cost from difficult terrain made by Spike Growth makes it so it costs 5ft to move 1ft, so therefore it costs 25ft to move 5ft.

400

An unmounted medium PC wielding a gargantuan lances in only one hand attempts to attack a creature within 5ft.

Is this always allowed? Is this always disallowed? How come (name every reason)?

It is not allowed ONLY for the reason that lances require two hands when unmounted. The DM may rule that weapons 2 sizes or more above the user cannot be used to attack with but this is an optional variant rule so is not always applicable.

400
An Artificer stores a spell in an object as part of their 11th level "Spell-Storing Item" ability. If a Thief rogue were to take possession of the item with the spell still inside, could they use a bonus action using their Fast Hands ability to activate the spell?

Yes.

The SAC states: "One of the benefits of Fast Hands is being able to take the Use an Object action as a bonus action, but using a magic item doesn’t fall under Use an Object."

However, elsewhere it states: "Activating a Spell-Storing Item uses the Use an Object action."

Since it counts as a Use an Object action, Fast Hands can apply to it.

400

A PC with a 7 in Constitution and 1 hit point left takes a short rest, expends 1 hit die, and rolls a 1 on it. What happens to that PC?

They remain at 0 hit points.

An errata was made to the 5e adventuring rules to have the minimum health regained on a short rest be 0 instead of none at all.

500

A PC with the Sentinel feat is attacked with a shortsword by another PC with the Mobile feat. Answer the following questions:

If the PC with the Mobile feat then moves out of the other PC's reach, can the PC with Sentinel take an opportunity attack?

Would the outcome be affected if the PC with the Mobile feat had taken the disengage action as well?

The SAC states: "The second benefit of the Sentinel feat is intended to counteract the Disengage action only. An enemy with the Mobile feat can avoid provoking opportunity attacks from someone who has the Sentinel feat, as long as that enemy doesn’t take the Disengage action."

The literal reading of this would mean that if the Mobile feat would have the PC avoid the opportunity attack but they take the Disengage action on top of that, then they would proc an attack.

The reading that they likely intended is that taking the Disengage action would not proc an opportunity attack if the Mobile feat cancels it. 

500

A PC affected by the Slow spell attempts to ready an action spell, describe in detail what happens.

1. They cast the spell upon using the readied action, so they roll the d20 then, where a 10 or below is treated as normal.

2. On an 11 or higher, the 

500

A PC is riding a mount when an enemy caster within 5ft casts the 1st level spell Thunderwave on the PC. There is a 50ft tall cliff behind the PC, meaning they may be pushed off. Answer the following questions:

Who makes the spell's required Constitution save?

What would cause the PC to fall off the mount in this situation?

What else might happen depending on how the Constitution save(s) are/is rolled?

Both the PC and the mount make the Constitution save.

If only the PC fails: They're automatically pushed back 10ft off the mount and down the cliff.

If only the mount fails: The PC makes a DC 10 Dexterity save, on a success the PC stays on the horse as it's pushed, on a fail the player lands 5ft prone next to the horse. They both take 5d6 fall damage and land prone from that either way.

If the Dexterity save was passed and the mount is still being ridden at this point, the PC may use their reaction to dismount the horse to "land on their feet", but would still end up prone from the fall damage. Otherwise they dismount and land prone separate to the fall damage.

If both fail: The same as failing the Dexterity save if the mount fails.

500

An Abjuration Wizard with resistance to fire damage and vulnerability to psychic damage has an arcane ward with 7 hit points. The Wizard takes 10 points of fire damage and 8 points of psychic damage from a single attack.

How much damage could the Wizard (not the ward) end up taking and describe in detail why this is the case.

The Xanathar's simultaneous effects rule would mean the Wizard decides the order of the damage types.

The arcane ward is unaffected by the Wizard's resistances and vulnerabilities, however it is also not immune to psychic/poison damage since it's not an object.

Assuming they want to take the least damage possible, they order the psychic first and fire second. The ward takes 7 psychic damage and breaks, the Wizard takes 1 psychic damage, multiplied to 2 since they're vulnerable. Then the wizard takes 10 fire damage which gets halved to 5, meaning the wizard loses 7 hit points from the interaction.

Assuming they want to take the most amount of damage possible, they have the fire go first, then destroy the ward and let the remaining 3 carry onto them, being divided to 1 fire damage. The remaining 8 psychic damage is multiplied to 16 damage so 17 is the total amount taken.

500

A 4ft tall Dwarf with 20 Strength used all of their actions this turn. They have 20ft of movement remaining and are standing in difficult terrain. They attempt to jump up and grab an object floating 12ft off the ground directly above them without leaving the difficult terrain.

Do they succeed automatically? If not, how far were they from reaching the object, and what might cause the Dwarf to succeed?

What happens to the Dwarf afterward?

The height the Dwarf could JUMP is 3 + 5 (from strength), assuming they get a 10ft running start. In difficult terrain this would cost 20ft, leaving them with none left for the jump.

Instead, the Dwarf can take half the jump height to jump 4ft, then add their normal height and arm length which are 4ft + 2ft respectively to reach exactly 10ft, 2ft short of the ultimate goal. The GM may have them roll an Athletics check to reach farther than what the rules say they can.

The Dwarf does not take fall damage as the distance they actually move off the ground is 4-6ft. However, landing in difficult terrain no matter the height means you are required to make a DC 10 Acrobatics check and failing results in landing prone.

M
e
n
u