Taking a call, texting, loud music, eating, and arguing with passenger.
What are some driver distractions?
You begin crossing the street and the walk signal begins to flash, you should____
What is continue walking to get across the street?
True or False: You should ride your bike with traffic not against it.
What is true?
The minimum number of months a teen must hold an instruction permit in Illinois before getting an initial license.
What is 9 months?
For the first 12 months of holding a license or until turning 18, an Illinois teen driver is limited to this many passengers under age 20 who are not immediate family.
What is one? (These categories of young passengers are completely exempt from the 1-passenger limit during a teen's first year of licensing. siblings, stepsiblings, children, or stepchildren of the driver)
On average, drivers take their eyes off the road for _____ seconds when texting.
What is 5 seconds? During that time — if traveling at 55mph — you have essentially driven the length of a football field without paying attention to the road.
You should do _____ with drivers before crossing the street
What is make eye contact?
Additional info: drivers always have to stop for you if you are crossing at a crosswalk, with or without the eye contact, but it is a good idea when possible, to make sure they see you
You need a white one in the front and a red one in the back
What are bike lights?
On Friday and Saturday nights, this is the time curfew begins for drivers under 18 under the GDL.
What is 11:00 PM? (Note: Sunday-Thursday curfew begins at 10:00 PM)
If your windshield wipers are on, these should be on too
What are your headlights?
True or False: Talking on a hands-free device is just as dangerous as holding a phone while driving.
What is true?
This is one of the biggest distractions for pedestrians that can lead to crashes
What is looking at your phone or texting?
You should be able to fit two of these between the chin strap and your chin on your bike helmet
What are your fingers?
The minimum number of total practice driving hours required during the permit phase, including at least 10 hours at night.
What is 50 hours?
Illinois enforces this strict policy for drivers under age 21, meaning losing your license immediately if caught driving with any trace of alcohol or illegal drugs in your system.
What is Zero Tolerance?
Percentage of teen drivers admit to reading a text or email while driving
What is 35%?
If there is no sidewalk you should do this?
What is walk on the left side facing traffic?
To let drivers and bicyclists know you are turning you use this
What are your arms/hands?
To graduate to the Full License Phase at age 18, a teen driver must remain free of these for 6 consecutive months prior to turning 18
What are traffic ticket convictions (or moving violations)?
If you are caught operating a motor vehicle in Illinois without carrying proof of this financial card, you face a fine and the suspension of your license plates
What is insurance card?
In the U.S in 2024., approximately this many deaths were caused by distracted driving
What is 3,208 lives?
True or False: Pedestrians always have the right of way, even when crossing outside of crosswalks
What is false?
Wearing this helps to absorb the force of an impact and decreases your risk of a serious head injury by up to 85%
What is a bike helmet?
Drivers under____ years of age can never use cell phones, even ones that are hands-free, except in case of emergency to contact a law enforcement agency, health-care provider, or emergency services agency.
What is 19?
This mandatory safety item must be worn by the driver and every single passenger in the vehicle, regardless of age or seating position.
What is seat belt?