Back That Azz Up
The Truth Shall Set You Free
Clearly Thinking
Gumbo
Correctable Fighting
100
Player B1 deflects a pass from Player A1 to Player A2, causing it to hit Player A2’s knee and continue into Team A’s backcourt. May any player from Team A be the first to legally touch the ball while it is in the backcourt?
Yes. The deflection by Player B1 caused team control to cease and the ball became loose. Any player from either team may be the first to touch and/or recover a loose ball.
100
(T/F)Prior to A2 releasing his final FT, rebounders A4 and B4 enter the lane. The official should block their whistle immediately and the players will re-lineup for A2's final FT.
True
100
Player A1, having gained possession of the ball in his backcourt, is dribbling in the frontcourt toward the basket. Player B1 fouls him from the rear, never having gotten ahead of him in the frontcourt, and no other defender is ahead of A1 who could have established a position between the ball and the basket. What is the ruling?
This is a personal foul against Player B1 and Player A1 is awarded two free throws. Team A retains possession of the ball on the sideline but no nearer to the baseline than the free throw line extended. If there is unnecessary contact on the play, a flagrant foul may be called.
100
(T/F) Shooter B2 is injured on a common foul, however, is able to attempt his FTs. Following his last FT, the game shall be stopped if the FT is made, or at the first pause in action, to remove B2 for substitute B6.
False. Only for infection control.
100
Player A1 and Player B1 are involved in a fight during a dead ball situation. The officials invoke a technical foul on each player. How is the ball put into play?
The officials will use instant replay to review the ejections and to rule on any other unsportsmanlike acts or unnecessary contact which may have gone unnoticed immediately prior to and/or after the altercation. Play is resumed at the same spot where it would have been had the altercation never taken place. No free throws are awarded.
200
Having been the first to gain possession after a jump ball, Player A1 dribbles or passes the ball into the backcourt. This is done after Player A1 has assumed a positive position in the frontcourt. Legal or illegal?
Illegal since Player A1 has established a positive position in the frontcourt.
200
(T/F) A violation shall be called when the thrower-in B5 steps on the boundary line prior to releasing the throw-in.
False. Stepping over the line is a violation.
200
Following a successful basket by Team B, Player A1 immediately throws a long pass to Player A2 who is streaking towards his basket. Knowing he is going to score easily, Player B2 grabs Player A2’s shirt just before he catches the ball at the free throw line. How is this play administered?
This play meets all the requirements for a clear-path-to-the-basket foul. Player A2 shall receive two free throw attempts and Team A will inbound on the nearest sideline at the free throw line extended since that is the nearest point of interruption.
200
Player A1 gathers the ball on a drive to the basket and defender B1 pushes him in the back which causes Player A1 to take 3 steps prior to scoring a successful basket. How many free throws are awarded?
Two. The basket cannot be scored as Player A1 committed a traveling violation. However, since he was fouled in the act of shooting, he will receive two free throws.
200
The Scorer’s Table fails to notify the officials that Team A is in the penalty when a common foul occurs with 5:50 remaining in the period. The error is discovered with 2:30 remaining in the same period. How is the play administered?
As soon as the ball is dead or Team A has possession and not on a fastbreak, the scorer’s table shall notify the officials. If the play-by-play shows that Team A scored a successful field goal or was awarded free throw attempts as the result of a personal foul on the next possession, the error shall be ignored. If it does not show either, the player who was fouled shall attempt 1 plus 1 for 2 free throws. Play is resumed at the point of interruption.
300
Player B1 rebounds an unsuccessful field goal attempt by Player A1 and attempts a pass to Player B2 near the midcourt line. Player A2 intercepts the pass while in midair and lands (in what would have been) Team B’s frontcourt. Is this a backcourt violation by Player A2?
No. The defensive team does not have a frontcourt/backcourt. Therefore, Player A2 shall be ruled as being in his backcourt when he lands with the ball in his control and establishes a positive position.
300
(T/F)A3 is dribbling the ball just above the 28' mark when A5 is whistled for an offensive 3 seconds violation. Team B will inbound at the FT Line extended.
True. Any O3, D3, and FF go to FT line extended.
300
Player A1 is dribbling the ball in the frontcourt and Player B1 deflects the ball away into the backcourt. Player B1 gains possession and is immediately fouled from behind by Player A1 to prevent Player B1 from scoring an uncontested basket. Is this a clear-path-to-the-basket foul?
Yes. The play originated in the backcourt, Team B had possession and Player B1 was fouled from behind while having a clear path to the basket to prevent an uncontested basket.
300
(T/F)During a jump ball at the FT circle, Player A5 taps the ball towards his rim and it has a chance to score. Defender B4 may legally block the ball since it was from a jump ball, even if it's on its downward flight.
False. Any ball that has a chance to score and must follow shot attempt guidelines.
300
Player A1 and Player B1 are involved in a fight while Player A2 is dribbling in the backcourt with 20 seconds on the 24-second clock. What type of foul is assessed and how is the ball put back into play?
The officials will use instant replay to review the ejections and to rule on any other unsportsmanlike acts or unnecessary contact which may have gone unnoticed immediately prior to and/or after the altercation. Assuming there are no further penalties, each player is charged with a technical foul, with no free throws being awarded. Team A will inbound on the sideline nearest the point of interruption with the clock remaining at 20. The “magic” number is now 11.
400
A field goal attempt by Player A1 is blocked by Player B1 and the ball becomes loose over the baseline. Player A1, having last touched the playing surface inbounds, leaps over the baseline, gains possession of the ball while still in mid-air and throws it into his backcourt. It is recovered by Player A2. Is this a backcourt violation?
Yes. The saving and throwing of the ball by Player A1 in the frontcourt is considered positive position. Therefore, a violation has occurred.
400
(T/F)It is a violation when A5 sets a screen on the sideline, with the one foot touching out of bounds.
False. Baseline only.
400
Player A1 recovers a loose ball in his backcourt and leads a fast break. As he enters his frontcourt he avoids defender B1 who is ahead of him but is then fouled from behind by B1 near the 3-point line with no other defenders ahead of him. Is this a clear-path-to-the-basket foul?
No. Since the defender who committed the foul was ahead of A1 after he entered the frontcourt, no Clear Path foul can be assessed.
400
(T/F)Player A1's attempted dunk hits him on the head prior to clearing the net, causing the ball to return back up through the basket ring. This is a "play on".
False. This is a violation. Ball should be inbounded to the defense FT line extended.
400
Player A1 is fouled and the officials are notified that Team B has committed five team fouls in the period. Player A1’s first free throw attempt is successful and the second free throw attempt is unsuccessful. However, Player A3 scores a field goal on the rebound of the second free throw attempt. After 24 seconds have elapsed, the officials are notified that the team foul information given was incorrect and no free throw attempts should have been awarded. How is this play administered?
The point scored on the successful free throw attempt is deleted and the points scored on the successful field goal by Player A3 remain. If the error was discovered within 24 seconds, all play in the entire sequence would be deleted, except unsportsmanlike acts and all flagrant fouls and points scored there-from.
500
Following a jump ball at the center circle, the ball is tapped toward the sideline. Player A1 leaps across the mid-court line into the frontcourt, having last touched the playing surface in his backcourt. He controls the ball while in mid-air and throws it to Player A2 who is positioned in his backcourt. Is this a backcourt violation?
No. Player A1 never established a positive position in the frontcourt.
500
With 6 seconds on the shot clock, defensive player B5 causes the ball to pass up through the bottom of Team A's basket. Team A will inbound on the sideline with 14 on the shot clock.
False. Shot clock stays the same.
500
Player A1 steals the ball in his backcourt and throws a pass to Player A2 streaking down the court. As Player A2 enters his frontcourt defender B2 is ahead of him but A2 is able to pass him prior to catching the ball near the 3-point line before he is immediately fouled from behind while having a clear-path-to-the-basket. What is the ruling on this play?
This is a clear-path-to-the-basket foul as defender B2 was never ahead of A2 in the frontcourt when he had the ball and there was no other defender ahead who could have attained a position between the ball and the basket.
500
(T/F)Team B only has 4 players on the court during Player A1's first of two FT attempts. A technical foul shall be assessed prior to the second attempt.
False. The ball will not remain in play.
500
What is the ruling if the officials are notified of the following between periods? (1) Team A attempted an unmerited free throw(s) which was successful. (2) Team A did not attempt merited free throw(s) from a common foul.
(1) The point(s) are subtracted if more than 24 seconds have elapsed. (2) The officials shall check the play-by-play and if Team A scored a successful field goal or was awarded free throw attempts as the result of a personal foul on the next possession, the error will be ignored if more than 24 seconds have elapsed. If neither occurred, the offended player will attempt his free throw(s) and play will resume where it was interrupted. If 24 or less seconds have elapsed, the game clock shall be reset to the time of the foul and the offended player will attempt his free throw(s).